Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre


Prizes Awarded at Lithuania’s 2017 Heifetz International Violin Competition
2017 - 02 - 22

The first prize of the V International Jascha Heifetz Competition for Violinists has been awarded to Yurina Arai from Japan. This 22-year-old violinist and student of Natsumi Tamai and Gerardo Poulet at the Tokyo University of Arts, won others contest as Valsesia, Osaka, Grumiaux and Yokohama International Violin Competitions.

She received €10,000 and major opportunities to perform in Europe.

Dmytro Udovychenko from Ukraine and VC Young Artist Rennosuke Fukuda from Japan, both 17 years old, won respectively the 2nd and 3rd prizes.

Finalists Stepan Starikov and Mayu Ozeki were the winners of the ‘Diploma’ acknowledgments. 

The ‘Audience Prize’ of this year was awarded by 24-year-old Bernardas Petrauskas from Lithuania.

The 2017 ‘EMCY Prizes’ were won by VC Young Artist Rennosuke Fukuda and Dmytro Udovychenko.

The ‘Lithuanian National Philharmonic Prize’ and ‘Kaunas State Philharmonic Prize’ were awarded to Yurina Arai and Dmytro Udovychenko.

Dmytro Udovychenko was also presented with the ‘New Music Generation Prize’ and the ‘Klaipeda Concert Hall Prize’.

This year‘s 2017, the V International Jascha Heifetz Competition for Violinists invited as juries: Ingrida Armonaitė-Galinienė (Lithuania) ,Friedemann Eichhorn (Germany), Rūta Lipinaitytė (Lithuania), Petras Radzevičius (Lithuania), Gerhard Schulz (Austria), Pavel Vernikov (Ukraine) and Gidon Kremer as chairperson of the jury.