Our site uses cookies to ensure you quality of service. By continuing browsing you agree with our Cookie policy , Privacy policy

History of the Faculty of Music

LMTA graduates in 1950 (c) LMTA

Formed in 1933, the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre has been training highly qualified artists for more than 80 years. The Kaunas Conservatoire (founded in 1933) and the Vilnius Conservatoire (founded in 1945) were merged into the Lithuanian State Conservatoire (1949), which was renamed the Lithuanian Academy of Music in 1992, and in 2004 it became the Lithuanian Academy of Music and Theatre (LMTA).

The first LMTA faculties as structural units were formed in 1949. The recent structure of two faculties in Vilnius – the Faculty of Music and the Faculty of Theatre and Film – were established in 2011 (the Klaipėda Faculty joined the LMTA in 2018). The Faculty of Music consists of 18 departments.